Centrify not respecting role assignments

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
j87
Participant I
#1 of 2 519

Centrify not respecting role assignments

To begin - I'm pretty new to Centrify, so there is most likely something I'm missing that's easy, but can't find why this is happening through the documentation I've seen.  It's bound to have been addressed previously, but couldn't find it in a search.

Long story short - I've created a zone with role assignments assigned to a single AD group.  Currently only one computer exists in the zone.  UNIX Login is restricted to this AD group, and checking Effective UNIX permissions on the computer/zone show that no inheritance is occurring from the parent zone.

However, users that are not a part of this group are able to SSH into the machine.  When checking dzinfo (user) it shows no role assignments, but still able to log into the system.  Viewing effective UNIX user rights for both system and zone show only 4 users are assigned roles, but it doesn't seem to be respecting that.

Like I said, bound to be something easy I'm missing, but can't seem to figure out what.

Thanks in advance!

Centrify Guru I
#2 of 2 512

Re: Centrify not respecting role assignments

@j87,

Welcome to the Centrify forums.

When submitting questions, please always provide:  Operating System and version, Centrify version (adinfo -v) and operating mode (e.g. adinfo --zone).

Zone deployments are typically commercial engagements, these provide design, implementation and/or training services.  Are you working with a Centrify professional or partner?

There are two pre-requisites for a user to be able to log in to a system in a Centrify zone:

a) The user has an identity defined.

b) The user (or a group that the user belongs) has  a role that allows to log in.
The minimum a role can have is a PAM acces right like SSH access or the built-in login all.  Otherwise an empty role will not work.